

NATIONAL COOPERATIVE HIGHWAY RESEARCH PROGRAM

Environmentally Sensitive Channel- and Bank-Protection Measures

TRANSPORTATION RESEARCH BOARD

OF THE NATIONAL ACADEMIES

#### TRANSPORTATION RESEARCH BOARD EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 2005 (Membership as of October 2005)

#### **OFFICERS**

Chair: John R. Njord, Executive Director, Utah DOT

Vice Chair: Michael D. Meyer, Professor, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology

Executive Director: Robert E. Skinner, Jr., Transportation Research Board

#### **MEMBERS**

MICHAEL W. BEHRENS, Executive Director, Texas DOT

ALLEN D. BIEHLER, Secretary, Pennsylvania DOT

LARRY L. BROWN, SR., Executive Director, Mississippi DOT

DEBORAH H. BUTLER, Vice President, Customer Service, Norfolk Southern Corporation and Subsidiaries, Atlanta, GA

ANNE P. CANBY, President, Surface Transportation Policy Project, Washington, DC

JOHN L. CRAIG, Director, Nebraska Department of Roads

DOUGLAS G. DUNCAN, President and CEO, FedEx Freight, Memphis, TN

NICHOLAS J. GARBER, Professor of Civil Engineering, University of Virginia, Charlottesville

ANGELA GITTENS, Vice President, Airport Business Services, HNTB Corporation, Miami, FL

GENEVIEVE GIULIANO, Director, Metrans Transportation Center, and Professor, School of Policy, Planning, and Development, USC, Los Angeles

BERNARD S. GROSECLOSE, JR., President and CEO, South Carolina State Ports Authority

SUSAN HANSON, Landry University Professor of Geography, Graduate School of Geography, Clark University

JAMES R. HERTWIG, President, CSX Intermodal, Jacksonville, FL

GLORIA JEAN JEFF, Director, Michigan DOT

ADIB K. KANAFANI, Cahill Professor of Civil Engineering, University of California, Berkeley

HERBERT S. LEVINSON, Principal, Herbert S. Levinson Transportation Consultant, New Haven, CT

SUE MCNEIL, Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Delaware, Newark

MICHAEL R. MORRIS, Director of Transportation, North Central Texas Council of Governments

CAROL A. MURRAY, Commissioner, New Hampshire DOT

MICHAEL S. TOWNES, President and CEO, Hampton Roads Transit, Hampton, VA

C. MICHAEL WALTON, Ernest H. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering, University of Texas, Austin

LINDA S. WATSON, Executive Director, LYNX—Central Florida Regional Transportation Authority

MARION C. BLAKEY, Federal Aviation Administrator, U.S.DOT (ex officio)

JOSEPH H. BOARDMAN, Federal Railroad Administrator, U.S.DOT (ex officio)

REBECCA M. BREWSTER, President and COO, American Transportation Research Institute, Smyrna, GA (ex officio)

GEORGE BUGLIARELLO, Chancellor, Polytechnic University, and Foreign Secretary, National Academy of Engineering (ex officio)

J. RICHARD CAPKA, Acting Administrator, Federal Highway Administration, U.S.DOT (ex officio)

THOMAS H. COLLINS (Adm., U.S. Coast Guard), Commandant, U.S. Coast Guard (ex officio)

JENNIFER L. DORN, Federal Transit Administrator, U.S.DOT (ex officio)

JAMES J. EBERHARDT, Chief Scientist, Office of FreedomCAR and Vehicle Technologies, U.S. Department of Energy (ex officio)

JACQUELINE GLASSMAN, Deputy Administrator, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, U.S.DOT (ex officio)

EDWARD R. HAMBERGER, President and CEO, Association of American Railroads (ex officio)

JOHN C. HORSLEY, Exec. Dir., American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (ex officio)

JOHN E. JAMIAN, Acting Administrator, Maritime Administration, U.S. DOT (ex officio)

EDWARD JOHNSON, Director, Applied Science Directorate, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (ex officio)

ASHOK G. KAVEESHWAR, Research and Innovative Technology Administrator, U.S.DOT (ex officio)

BRIGHAM MCCOWN, Deputy Administrator, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration, U.S.DOT (ex officio)

WILLIAM W. MILLAR, President, American Public Transportation Association (ex officio)

SUZANNE RUDZINSKI, Director, Transportation and Regional Programs, U.S. EPA (ex officio)

ANNETTE M. SANDBERG, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administrator, U.S.DOT (ex officio)

JEFFREY N. SHANE, Under Secretary for Policy, U.S.DOT (ex officio)

CARL A. STROCK (Maj. Gen., U.S. Army), Chief of Engineers and Commanding General, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (ex officio)

## NATIONAL COOPERATIVE HIGHWAY RESEARCH PROGRAM

<u>Transportation Research Board Executive Committee Subcommittee for NCHRP</u>

JOHN R. NJORD, Utah DOT (Chair)

J. RICHARD CAPKA, Federal Highway Administration

JOHN C. HORSLEY, American Association of State Highway

and Transportation Officials

MICHAEL D. MEYER, Georgia Institute of Technology ROBERT E. SKINNER, JR., Transportation Research Board

MICHAEL S. TOWNES, Hampton Roads Transit, Hampton, VA

C. MICHAEL WALTON, University of Texas, Austin

### NATIONAL COOPERATIVE HIGHWAY RESEARCH PROGRAM

# NCHRP REPORT 544

# Environmentally Sensitive Channel- and Bank-Protection Measures

JOHN MCCULLAH
AND
DONALD GRAY
Salix Applied Earthcare
Redding, CA

SUBJECT AREAS

Energy and Environment • Bridges, Other Structures, Hydraulics and Hydrology • Soils, Geology, and Foundations

Research Sponsored by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials in Cooperation with the Federal Highway Administration

# TRANSPORTATION RESEARCH BOARD

WASHINGTON, D.C. 2005 www.TRB.org